Where I’m At

My life right now is both super hectic and super boring right now, but I am at such a happy place. One month and nine days ago, I married the love of my life on a perfect summer day in Blacksburg, Virginia (where he is from and where we both went to college). I’ve probably spent about three full hours of my life watching our wedding highlight real over and over again, but I’m unashamed. It was the happiest day of our lives–but each day of marriage is SUCH a blessing! YAY I could go on forever with mushy gushy stuff but I’ll stop.

So now we are fully moved into a 900 square foot apartment. It’s precious and underground (literally…underground) and we LOVE it. But we are moving again in two short weeks to our next adventure–as quickly as we unpacked, we’re packing up again. This time, we’ll be moving into an 800 square foot little nugget duplex in Roanoke, Virginia. Morgan will be teaching in the area…we can’t wait to start fresh in a new place.

Some may ask…well, Holly, what are you doing with your life? And I would say, “That is a very good question.” I’ve spent the past month learning to be domestic (or, as the title of the blog says, “semi-domestic”). You see, I grew up in a home with a mother who (love you mom) cooked baked chicken, broccoli, and rice for dinner almost every night, with the occasional “quesadilla:” a tortilla with melted cheese popped in the microwave for 20 seconds. Mom’s motto has always been, “We eat to live, not live to eat.” My sweet husband, on the other hand, is one of three boys, and my mother-in-law is the epitome of domesticity. She could make a piece of paper taste like heaven.

When Morgan and I started seriously talking about marriage about a year ago, I decided to experiment with a recipe once a week. I clearly remember one week last August–my good friend had just gotten married and sent me a cute little recipe card of her and her new husband’s favorite meal. I thought, “OH we will be just like them and make this recipe and snuggle and be so cute and domestic.” Oh gosh I was so wrong. The memory of that night includes the smoke alarm, tears, the “I’ll never cook like your mom,” and Morgan saying, “Babe, we will just eat them burnt!!” We sat at the table, me sobbing and Morgan reassuringly saying, “YUM,” over and over again.

I’d like to think that I’ve come a long way this past year, but, truthfully, I popped in a frozen pizza last week because I burnt the homemade one. Through this blog, I can’t wait to chronicle all my failures so that you guys can laugh alongside us. BUT, I’m also really learning and can’t wait to share all my yummy and (mostly) healthy recipes. I’m no expert, so don’t expect greatness…but it may be better than Lean Cuisines.

Other than learning to cook, I’ve applied to approximately fifteen jobs and heard back from one of them. Who knew that my Bachelor’s degree would be fairly worthless?? However…I am certain that the Lord has a plan not only for my future job but also for this time of waiting. I keep talking about learning to cook and clean and be a wife, but, in a WAY bigger sense, I’m learning to love and serve and submit to my wonderful husband in the way that God calls me to love. I’m learning that loving Morgan doesn’t mean taking care of house stuff just to wait for his praise and acknowledgement. I do these things because I love him! My role at this stage of life, in this stage of waiting, is to love and serve my  sweet farmer husband, and one tiny and simple way to do that is through my little domestic undertakings. I am grateful for this stage–anxiously waiting for a job and the next stage–but relishing in this time of rest, relaxation, newness, and growth.

YAY for the new stage of life. So grateful for the opportunity to share this via blogging.

 

I have such a talented friend. Check her out :)

I have such a talented friend. Check her out at http://www.kaitlynphippsphotography.com

Leave a Reply

Legacy

cowgirl boots with no mud

Life Encouraged

cowgirl boots with no mud

RACH KINCAID

cowgirl boots with no mud

Modern Mrs. Darcy

cowgirl boots with no mud

Taylor Schumann

cowgirl boots with no mud

blog - rachel a. dawson

cowgirl boots with no mud

BooMama

Read by tens of people every single day

Jamie the Very Worst Missionary

cowgirl boots with no mud

baileyprice.wordpress.com/

Grab some tea. Stay awhile.

Keeping up with the Joneses

cowgirl boots with no mud

JIllian Lauren

cowgirl boots with no mud

Jamie Ivey

cowgirl boots with no mud

Shannan Martin Writes

cowgirl boots with no mud

Annie F Downs

author. speaker. loud laugher.

bohemianbright.wordpress.com/

a travel + lifestyle blog

laurenwasher.com

cowgirl boots with no mud

Darling Do

cowgirl boots with no mud

Skinny Mom

cowgirl boots with no mud

Skinnytaste

cowgirl boots with no mud

