A Year Later

Yikes! WordPress must have had a major glitch that deleted ALL OF MY POSTS from the past year. Because obviously, I’ve been faithful to write to my faithful audience of 3 (mom, dad, and husband). So sorry, fan club.

That’s a lie. I’ve been the laziest of writers this past year. I forgot that I started this blog until recently, so I came to it to read about where I was this time last year. My oh my has life changed. Consistently, God has been ridiculously faithful. There’s no way I can not write.

Last I wrote, I began a job teaching preschool in Roanoke, and Morgan was teaching at a high school. A year ago, I would never, ever, ever have expected to be where we are now–if we aren’t a walking depiction of “God’s plans are different than our plans,” I don’t know what is.

Currently, Morgan and I are working at a homeless shelter in downtown Roanoke. After a year of painful job disappointments and working through a lot of junk, the Lord has us in ministry at the moment, and we are crazy grateful for this time of working together and for His glory. Daily, we witness lives devastated by the fall of man, people aching for hope, and opportunities to share Life with the unlovable. It is hard. So hard. My heart shatters every time I witness a family walk into our doors with nothing but the clothes on their back, or the addict that stumbles into intake to enter into our recovery program, shaking from a detox. As society scoffs at their lives, Morgan and I have this rare opportunity to tell these people that they are worth it. Coincidentally, each time that I get to have that conversation with someone, Jesus tells me, “Hey–you are exactly like these guests. Just as sinful, just as dirty, just as helpless on your own. But I counted you worth it, too.”

So, in a nutshell:

  • We moved to Roanoke.
  • We started two jobs.
  • We quit those two jobs.
  • We got jobs working at a homeless shelter.
  • We fell in love with Roanoke–the people, our church, our home.
  • We traveled a lot, celebrated a lot, and had way too much fun.
  • I learned to cook, and Morgan learned to eat all of my meals, even when the chicken was still a lil pink.
  • We count this year as a straight-up hot mess…but our marriage has been the most steadfast in the midst of the chaos.
  • We have no clue where He’s taking us next.

I’m going to make a promise to you, faithful posse of three. I’m going to keep writing. Because, honestly, who wouldn’t want to read about how ridiculously shambly our lives are?

Included is a picture to show that we actually survived year one, and we went on a nice date on June 1 to prove it. And look! We’re even smiling real smiles! (Well, at least mine is a real smile. Morgan is most definitely fake, but I promise he loves me.)

photo1

2 thoughts on “A Year Later

  1. Karen Chapman says:

    Yeah, I love your life and your husband and all your shambles. Such a great beginning and there is so much more wonderful shambles to come. MOMMY

  2. Dad says:

    A perfect update, perfectly written. Can’t wait to see what’s next for you kids!

Leave a Reply

Legacy

cowgirl boots with no mud

Life Encouraged

cowgirl boots with no mud

RACH KINCAID

cowgirl boots with no mud

Modern Mrs. Darcy

cowgirl boots with no mud

Taylor Schumann

cowgirl boots with no mud

blog - rachel a. dawson

cowgirl boots with no mud

BooMama

Read by tens of people every single day

Big Mama

the big mama blog

Jamie the Very Worst Missionary

cowgirl boots with no mud

baileyprice.wordpress.com/

Grab some tea. Stay awhile.

Keeping up with the Joneses

cowgirl boots with no mud

JIllian Lauren

cowgirl boots with no mud

Jamie Ivey

cowgirl boots with no mud

Shannan Martin Writes

cowgirl boots with no mud

Annie F Downs

author. speaker. loud laugher.

bohemianbright.wordpress.com/

a travel + lifestyle blog

laurenwasher.com

cowgirl boots with no mud

Darling Do

cowgirl boots with no mud

Skinny Mom

cowgirl boots with no mud

