Taking Stock

Life is so fun right now.

Summer is beginning. The sun is shining. New great friends just moved to Radford. We visit my parents next weekend. Wedding season has officially begun (read: free food, drinks, and dancing). It’s just all really, really good. And I want to document all the feels, so here is Taking Stock, a new Friday series. Maybe. If I remember. (These are the joys of writing for fun versus writing for work. NO RULES!)

Cooking: crockpot is on (dear God I hope) with balsamic pork inside
Drinking: water…because I had an extra cup of coffee today, and my hands are shaking.
Reading: A Little Salty to Cut the Sweet. Interspersed with a new Southern Living cookbook. But all my days are beginning in 2 Corinthians these days.
Wanting: November 15, when we sail away with Mickey Mouse (Two 20-somethings and two 50-somethings. Words are not adequate for how amazing this will be.)
Playing: this fun game I like to call “text Morgan six times in a row until he responds.”
Wishing: that my office was actually outside, underneath a tree…instead of inside, looking at a tree.
Writing: story pitches galore
Enjoying: though the weather channel said it was supposed to rain, the sun is shining bright.
Waiting: for the end of work and the start of weekend
Listening: this
Loving: summer weather in the middle of May
Dreaming: of the day today’s kind of writing job transforms into my dream kind of writing job
Pondering: how much more simple my life would look without a smart phone
Watching: season 7 of Friends
Hoping: that my crockpot is, in fact, on
Marveling: in the vastness of God’s love and the fact that He knows my name.
Needing: a trip to the water (and a tan)
Smelling: Pumpkin Latte & Marshmallow lotion from Bath & Body Works. It may be summer, but this fall scent sits on my desk year-round…thanks, Astleigh!
Wearing: ponytail because Friday; baseball tee; peach vest that’s a little too trendy for me; dark wash Gap jeans—rolled up, of course; Toms.
Craving: a massive Panera salad, followed by an Oreo McFlurry
Rocking: my new $3.99 Rimmel Scandal Eyes eyeliner. It sparkles! (When I showed it to Morgan yesterday, he said, “Oh…I thought your eyes were watering.” Bless his heart.)
Noticing: that my days, when explained in these verbs, are happy. And noticing that I love that.
Thinking: about what I want to do and who I want to be
Feeling: a good kind of anxious about what is next in life
Admiring: dreamers that follow through
Bookmarking: quotes that convict. Most recent: “When I’m writing, I’m very particular about what I listen to and what I read, because it gets inside, you know? I’m a little more permeable in seasons of writing, and so I want to choose stories and sounds that keep good company, that make me braver and wilder and more honest.” -Shauna Niequist
Disliking: how fast weekends pass
Giggling: this
Feeling: rested

Idea completely and totally stolen from Pip, a random blogger I found through Google. Thank you, Pip.

3 thoughts on “Taking Stock

  1. Kelly says:

    Holly! So good to run into you today! Your post popped up on my Facebook so I had to read. I love 2 Corinthians too, especially during this season of support raising! 2 Cor. 9:12 is one of my faves–everyone has the opportunity to minister to people by providing their thanks to God! So cool!
    Anyways, on another note, I liked your peach vest, trenchy or not 😉

  2. sydnijackson says:

    Hey Holly! I nominated you for a Liebster Award! I’d love to see your post about it if you’d like to participate 🙂 See the post here – https://sydnijackson.wordpress.com/2015/05/14/liebster-award/

  3. […] very incomplete–in my draft folder, and here we are at another Friday, Taking Stock of this past week. And, in a way, I’m grateful those blogs sit drafted because it illustrates […]

Leave a Reply

Legacy

cowgirl boots with no mud

Life Encouraged

cowgirl boots with no mud

RACH KINCAID

cowgirl boots with no mud

Modern Mrs. Darcy

cowgirl boots with no mud

Taylor Schumann

cowgirl boots with no mud

blog - rachel a. dawson

cowgirl boots with no mud

BooMama

Read by tens of people every single day

Big Mama

the big mama blog

Jamie the Very Worst Missionary

cowgirl boots with no mud

baileyprice.wordpress.com/

Grab some tea. Stay awhile.

Keeping up with the Joneses

cowgirl boots with no mud

JIllian Lauren

cowgirl boots with no mud

Jamie Ivey

cowgirl boots with no mud

Shannan Martin Writes

cowgirl boots with no mud

Annie F Downs

author. speaker. loud laugher.

bohemianbright.wordpress.com/

a travel + lifestyle blog

laurenwasher.com

cowgirl boots with no mud

Hill Collection

cowgirl boots with no mud

Skinny Mom

cowgirl boots with no mud

