Taking Stock 4

Cooking: I’m on a health food kick. We’re consuming our weight in sweet potatoes and grilled meat and trying to eat “cleaner.” I say “cleaner” because if I said we were eating “clean,” my sweet hubs may just collapse into a crying fit. I’m starting to realize that what we put into our bodies is what fuels us (I probably should’ve realized this about 20 years ago, but better late than never). I want us to become intentional about our health, which means a lot less processed food and a lot more veggies.

Drinking: Water, tea, coffee, and, of course, red wine. Grapes=fruit=healthy–>wine=healthy

Reading: Not enough. Our weeks have been packed to the brim, and, unfortunately, the first thing I’ve sacrificed is setting aside time to read. It is so much easier–and so much lazier–to watch Netflix instead. But, my mornings are spent in 2 Corinthians, and I’ve been stuck on this reminder from the fifth chapter: “From now on, therefore, we regard no one according to the flesh. Even though we once regarded Christ according to the flesh, we regard him thus no longer. Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.” I’ve probably heard or read this scripture hundreds of times, but it’s sinking in and changing the way I look at the people around me. And, maybe more strikingly, the way I look at myself.

Wanting: To have a heart like this.

Wishing: For a clone of me that will handle all of the logistics of my life (cleaning, cooking, working, paying bills, etc.) so that all I have to focus on is fun things. I’m feeling logical this morning, friends.

Writing: I need help! Tell me what you want to know about our fostering journey. We’re up to our knees in paperwork, keeping in touch with our worker, and preparing our lives for this adventure. I’m weary to write about it on the blog because I’m overwhelmed and never, ever want to sound like I think I’m an expert, but I also want to keep you all updated. So tell me what you’re curious about!

Enjoying: We had our third Supper Club this week. There are four couples who have dinner together once a month, but it’s turned into so much more. We all just genuinely enjoy each other and spend lots of time together. I love it. And we eat such delicious food.

Waiting: Tomorrow, we celebrate my cousin Annie’s wedding. I remember years and years ago, when she was in high school and told me she was going to marry this boy named Caleb. And tomorrow, I get to see it happen. Also, I’m one of about 15 cousins on this side, and we wreck havoc at weddings. In a very not-classy, yet hilarious way. We are 15 incredibly strong personalities, and we leave zero square feet for any other guests on the dance floor. Last year, another cousin got married, and the DJ did something he will probably forever regret: he started a little game between the groom’s family and the bride’s family to see who could sing “We Are Family” louder. You don’t challenge Chapmans. We destroyed. I think I apologized to the elderly people on the other side for busting their ear drums.

IMG_2393The last family wedding. Looks like a normal picture (as normal as we do), but please note the “deuces” I felt it was necessary to throw up right as the picture was taken. [back right. can’t miss it.]

Listening: I’ve started to tune into NPR while driving instead of listening to music. I feel about six grade levels smarter, and I never forget to let everyone know all that I learned because I know everyone is as interested/obsessed with current events like I am. Right?

Loving: Pitch Perfect 2 was infinitely better than expected. I always doubt a sequel, but PP2 doesn’t disappoint. Not ashamed to admit it…I got a bit emotional. I think I loved it all the more because we watched it with a bunch of hilarious friends. We took up an entire row and laughed loud. I got all I need when I got you.

Dreaming: I actually had a dream a few weeks ago that I went to Kroger, and none of the produce was on sale. It was a travesty. Also, it’s a travesty that I have nightmares about sales on zucchini squash.

Pondering: I think it’s important to think about how and through what avenues we discuss really big, really sensitive, really sad and scary social topics. I have opinions…but I’m not about to take to social media. That takes self control because I don’t have a filter, but this article reminded me that “compassion doesn’t mean compromising.” Give it a read with an open-mind, because I fully admit I need to read opposing articles and opinions with one, too.

Watching: TED Talks like this one are making me a little psycho-obsessed with the whole food situation. (Trying to find the balance of being wise and informed while not being cray-cray.)

Marveling: At how sweet our anniversary was this year. This summer, we’re busy or traveling all but about four weekends, so just the thought of planning an anniversary trip made me tired. Morgan swept me away to the city we lived in most of our second year of marriage, we ate at some of our favorite restaurants, and we hiked up a mountain. It was relaxing and just what we needed. We spent our actual anniversary (Monday) eating Chinese food, watching lots of Friends, and getting cookies and catching up with the owners at Crumb and Get It, the local shop that made all the cookies for our wedding!

Needing: I keep saying “BEACH” (usually just like that, in all caps) each week, and I think my MIL got the point. We are potentially ACTUALLY GOING TO THE BEACH! Cue the luau music and hula dancing hips.

Wearing: Jeans and a shirt. Nothing to write home about.

Craving: I’m craving healthy foods. Which is of the sweet Lord because I love me some chocolate. Right now, I’d devour a taco salad, or a sweet potato (yet again), or some watermelon. Or an Oreo Blizzard from Dairy Queen but I’m going to suppress that.

Rocking: This afternoon, I will most definitely be rocking yoga pants for this seven hour drive to Indiana.

Thinking: I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the bio families of the kids we’ll take in through fostering. Thinking of the pain, the hurt, the fears. And thinking about how we can love them well.

Feeling: Y’all. I am feeling a lot of pain in my arms. This foster parent business is no joke. I also was years behind on immunizations (whoops) so they caught me up quickly by sticking my arm with a billion (two) needles this past week.

Admiring: I’ve said it once, and I’ll say it again. I love Jen Hatmaker. I think she’s one in a million and will read anything she puts out. I remember about a year ago when she announced that her mom was diagnosed with cancer, and she shared on her blog this week about how her family has coped with it. I think this tactic can and should be used when anyone in our lives faces trials.

Disliking: The new feature on the TimeHop app that remembers Facebook conversations had from nine years ago. NINE. Let’s all think back to nine years ago because I was most definitely a 15 year old with very few social skills. This daily reminder is shaming.

Giggling: I’m 99% certain these are made up, but if you–like myself–looked forward to 5 p.m. each school day to spend some time with my girl Oprah, you’ll giggle too. [Update: this as well.]

Bookmarking: Morgan sent me this from a book he’s reading by Paul Tripp:

“…Not only is God keeping your inheritance, he’s keeping you. He’s not only protecting what is to come, he’s protecting you, so that when what is to come has come, you will be there to receive it and enjoy it forever and ever. So remember today that no matter how hard your story is right here, right now, it is guaranteed for you as God’s child that it will end better than anything you can now imagine, and that glory will never end!”

Happy Friday friends! May we remember that His “better” is so much better than our “better.”

One thought on “Taking Stock 4

  1. sydnijackson says:

    Produce goes on SALE??! Gosh, I can’t wait to move back to the NRV!! I’d love to hear anything about the foster journey… how you made the decision (I know you already shared some), what the process is like, what the kids are like, what the homes are like… I don’t really know anything about it!

Leave a Reply

Legacy

cowgirl boots with no mud

Life Encouraged

cowgirl boots with no mud

RACH KINCAID

cowgirl boots with no mud

Modern Mrs. Darcy

cowgirl boots with no mud

Taylor Schumann

cowgirl boots with no mud

blog - rachel a. dawson

cowgirl boots with no mud

BooMama

Read by tens of people every single day

Big Mama

the big mama blog

Jamie the Very Worst Missionary

cowgirl boots with no mud

baileyprice.wordpress.com/

Grab some tea. Stay awhile.

Keeping up with the Joneses

cowgirl boots with no mud

JIllian Lauren

cowgirl boots with no mud

Jamie Ivey

cowgirl boots with no mud

Shannan Martin Writes

cowgirl boots with no mud

Annie F Downs

author. speaker. loud laugher.

bohemianbright.wordpress.com/

a travel + lifestyle blog

laurenwasher.com

cowgirl boots with no mud

Darling Do

cowgirl boots with no mud

Skinny Mom

cowgirl boots with no mud

